UPDATE: WINNERS announced for 2017 CMAO Awards hosted in London.

This was my first year not attending this prestigious event, either as a member, fan or a volunteer.  2014 was my proudest moment as I nominated 2 wonderful female friends of mine & they made it thru~our very own Tami J Wilde was nominated for Female Artist of the Year, Single of the Year for Sweet and Songwriter of the Year & Riki Knox was nominated for  Female Artist of the Year, Single of the Year, Rising Star and Songwriter of the Year.
Country Music Awards Ontario (CMAOntario) 2017 was an extra special award ceremony, celebrating 5 years.  I would like to give praise to all the nominees and winners this year, you are all stars in my books.  I have a selfish reason I follow these awards, my dear Muskoka childhood friend Deric Ruttan has been nominated for outstanding awards, and I follow his career since we were pre teens.  This year he was nominated for 2 awards: Male Artist of the Year and SONGWRITER(S) OF THE YEAR (sponsored by SOCAN)  to WHICH HE WON along side Co-writer Craig Wiseman for “Came Here to Forget” performed by Blake Shelton *WINNER*  This marks Deric’s 5th CMAO win:
Photo by SOCAN
2013 Album of The Year Winner: Deric Ruttan –
Up All Night – Deric Ruttan Live
2013 Song-writer of the Year Winner: Jason Blaine, Deric Ruttan –
They Don’t Make ‘ Em Like That Anymore
2014 Single of The Year Winner: Deric Ruttan-
Take The Week Off
2014 Songwriter of The Year Winner: Mine Would Be You 
(written by Jessi Alexander/Connie Harrington/Deric Ruttan; 
performed by Blake Shelton)
2016 Songwriter of The Year (SOCAN) Jason Blaine, Deric Ruttan – “Country Side” performed by Jason Blaine
ALSO, Cold Creek County is a Canadian country rock group. Its members are Doug Oliver, Josh Lester, Trevor MacLeod, Justin Lester, Jordan Honsinger and Ches Anthony. They were founded in 2013, Cold Creek, which runs through the rolling hills, apple orchards and villages in central Ontario within the rural locals between Peterborough and Belleville where band members call home. Band members literally cross Cold Creek to get to each other’s homes.  2016 they WON 3 CMAO for Group/Duo of The Year, Rising Star & Fans Choice & they took home 2017 Group/Duo of The Year.  Proud of this act, whom I also follow since
they won the 2014 Country Group of the Year at The Wire Awards.
2016 CMAO Award wins were handed to Cold Creek County for Group of Duo of the Year, the Rising Star Award and Fans’ Choice with 2017 bringing home Group or Duo of The Year Award.
So proud to have 2 of my home town areas represented, CONGRATS DERIC RUTTAN & COLD CREEK COUNTY.  I am honored to share with all of you the Nominees and Winners of each category for 2017, and I will make a promise to be there next year to capture photos once again.
SINGLE OF THE YEAR (sponsored by KICX 106)

“Beer Weather” – Cold Creek County
“Cherry Bomb” – River Town Saints *WINNER*
“Lawn Chair Lazy ” – James Barker Band
“Still Loving You” – Meghan Patrick ft. Joe Nichols
“Workin’ On Whiskey” – Jessica Mitchell

ALBUM OF THE YEAR (sponsored by Electrical Contractors Association of Ontario & International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers)

Born to Love – The Lovelocks

Country Side – Jason Blaine

Grace and Grit – Meghan Patrick *WINNER*

Shake These Walls – Tim Hicks

Till The Wheels Come Off – Cold Creek County
Deric Ruttan, Craig Wiseman – “Came Here to Forget”
performed by Blake Shelton
James Barker, Gavin Slate, Travis Wood – “Lawn Chair Lazy”
performed by James Barker Band
Jessica Mitchell, Dave Thomson, Patricia Conroy – “Workin’ on Whiskey”
performed by Jessica Mitchell
Meghan Patrick, Patricia Conroy, Philip Barton – “Grace and Grit”
performed by Meghan Patrick
Tim Hicks, Todd Clark, Gavin Slate, Travis Wood – “Stompin’ Ground”
performed by Tim Hicks
Genevieve Fisher
Jessica Mitchell
Leah Daniels
Meghan Patrick *WINNER*
Tianna Woods
MALE ARTIST OF THE YEAR (sponsored by Havelock Country Jamboree)
Deric Ruttan
Jason Blaine
Marshall Dane
Tim Hicks *WINNER*
GROUP OR DUO OF THE YEAR (sponsored by The Remington Group)
Autumn Hill
Cold Creek County *WINNER*
James Barker Band
River Town Saints
The Abrams
Kelly Prescott
Jessica Mitchell
Lindi Ortega
The Abrams *WINNER*
The Western Swing Authority
RISING STAR AWARD (sponsored by Slaight Music)
Buck Twenty
Dani Strong
Meghan Patrick *WINNER*
River Town Saints
The Abrams
FANS’ CHOICE (sponsored by Ontario Media Development Corporation)
Autumn Hill
Cold Creek County
James Barker Band *WINNER*
Jason Blaine
Meghan Patrick
River Town Saints
Tim Hicks
“Bow Chicka Wow Wow” – Meghan Patrick *WINNER*
“Cherry Bomb” – River Town Saints
“Dance With My Daughter” – Jason Blaine
“Lawn Chair Lazy” – James Barker Band
“What Love Is All About” – Johnny Reid
Dan Brodbeck (Dani Strong)
Dave Thomson (Jessica Mitchell)
Gavin Brown (The Abrams)
Jason Barry (Dean Brody, Genevieve Fisher, The Western Swing Authority, Tianna Woods) *WINNER*
The Agenda, Leah Daniels (Leah Daniels)
INDUSTRY PERSON OF THE YEAR (sponsored by Seeds & Co.)
Amanda Kingsland, Rogers Radio
Catherine Faint, Catherine Faint Entertainment
Dave Woods, In The Country
Mike Denney, MDM Recordings
Steve Coady, Warner Music Canada *WINNER*
CHKX-FM (KX 94.7), Hamilton
CJBX-FM (BX 93), London *WINNER*
CJKX-FM 95.9 (KX 96), Oshawa
CKBY-FM (Country 101.1), Ottawa
CKDK-FM 103.9 (Country 104), Woodstock
CKKL-FM (New Country 94), Ottawa
RADIO STATION OF THE YEAR (MEDIUM MARKET)(sponsored by Lucknow’s Music in the Fields)
CFCO-FM 92.9 (Country 92.9), Chatham
CHCQ-FM (Cool 100.1 FM), Belleville *WINNER*
CICS-FM (KICX 91.7), Sudbury
CJQM-FM (Country 104.3), Sault Ste Marie
CKXC-FM (Country 93.5), Kingston
CHAW-FM (Country 103), Little Current
CHVR-FM 96.7 (Star 96 FM), Pembroke
CICX-FM (KICX 106), Orillia *WINNER*
CJDL-FM (Country 107.3), Tillsonburg
CKYC-FM 93.7 (Country 93), Owen Sound